Foxwood Academy

Foxwood Academy

Learning For Life

  1. Our Curriculum
  2. EYFS Curriculum

EYFS Curriculum

There are currently no children of EYFS age (2023-2024).

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum is made up of seven areas of learning and Foxwood Academy gives particular focus to communication and language, social and self-help skills and developing play and exploration. A creative and multi-sensory approach to learning is adopted with daily opportunities to learn both indoors and outdoors.

The prime areas of learning are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The specific areas of learning are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

EYFS learners have ample opportunity to engage in planned play; both adult-led and child-initiated. The Academy recognises the crucial role of the adult in scaffolding play to develop key communication and play skills, widen a child’s interests and develop their confidence and curiosity.


EYFS Profile and ELGs

The EYFS Profile is used for assessment purposes which allows holistic, best-fit judgements to be made about a child’s development. This is a collaborative process involving classroom practitioners, parents and outside agencies. Ongoing assessment occurs routinely within the EYFS; photographs and videos are used to capture a child’s interests and achievements and are shared with parents and caregivers as appropriate.

A judgement for each of the 17 Early Learning Goals (ELGs) is made during the final term of the EYFS.


Prime Areas Communication and Language ELGs Physical Development ELGs Personal, Social and Emotional Development ELGs
  • Listening, Attention and Understanding
  • Speaking
  • Gross Motor Skills
  • Fine Motor Skills
  • Self-Regulation
  • Managing Self
  • Building Relationships


Specific Areas

Literacy ELGs Mathematics ELGs Understanding the World ELGs Expressive Arts and Design ELGs
  • Comprehension
  • Word Reading
  • Writing
  • Number
  • Numerical Patterns
  • Past and Present
  • People, Culture and Communities
  • The Natural World
  • Creating with Materials
  • Being imaginative and Expressive


A child’s learning and development will either be described as meeting expected levels of development or emerging in each area of learning. This knowledge will then be used to inform a thorough baseline assessment for all core and non-core subjects as well as the Preparing for Adulthood (PfA) curriculum in readiness for teaching and learning in Year 1. The class teacher remains consistent between EYFS and Year 1 to ensure this important transition is as smooth as it can be.